The Life of a Writer

When you write night and day it’s easy to become mentally exhausted. I work at a job that requires me to write up to 10 stories a week. I come home and after helping my son with his homework then putting him to bed, I then hop on the computer and try to work on my novel. By the time my head hits the pillow I am mentally exhausted but my desire to write this novel is so strong that I can’t stop. I am already 32 pages in and it feels good to get the words out of my head. I am no stranger of course to writing novels. I wrote my first novel when I was 14, it was a mystery novel and I wrote it in an old 89 page notebook. My second novel I wrote when I was 15 and was 100 pages and then in my early 20’s came my first take on a romance/adventure novel that was 100 pages. Sadly all three are lost to me but the words are never really forgotten. I have learned to embrace that side of me. The side that needs to write every single day. If I am not working on my novel I am writing in my journal. Yes the life of a writer can be an exhausting and frustrating one but it can also be an adventure.

Leave a Reply

