Writing A Novel

I have been hard at work writing my first horror novel and it feels so good to write a novel. Its not the first time I have written a novel but it is the first time that I am writing one not just for myself but one I intend to get published. That’s right my goal is to find an agent and have my novel published by a big name publishing company and I am not giving up. I have always been motivated when it comes to succeeding. Sure I have hit a few speed bumps and yes I have been derailed a few times. However, I always pick myself up and keep on striving. Growing up I was a loner. I never fit in and was often bullied and picked on. I would find solace in the school library where I would bury myself in one book write after another. I was a book lover from the moment I learned to read. It was through reading various books namely horror novels that I found my passion to be the horror/mystery genre. Now mind you I do write human interest stories, I love writing personal essays and I do aim to one day write a memoir, but right now I aiming to finish this novel. I grew up with a variety of inspirations. I love Anne Rice, Stephen King, John Saul, Dean Koontz, H.P. Lovecraft, Edgar Allen Poe, Bram Stoker. However, it was reading Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein and The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson that really motivated me. I mean these women were able to write these stories that truly frightened me yet also captivated me. It was after reading their works that something sparked inside of me. I began writing different horror stories and while I received many rejection letters I did finally hit success when a ghost story I wrote was published in FATE Magazine. My desire to be a horror novelist is one that I am very passionate about. I have so far written 50 pages and nine chapters.

Leave a Reply

