Growing up in a small town

Growing up, I like many others dreamed of running away to the big city. I think at some point there is a part of us that yearns to see what it’s like on the other side of the fence. For more I craved the rush of the big city, craved the excitement of being on my own and exploring. After I graduated from high school there was nothing holding me back. I had no friends and no boyfriend to hold me back. All I had was a mother and brother who I knew would be fine if I left. So without thinking things completely through I took the plunge and entered the Art Institute of Pittsburgh. Looking back I realize that in many ways it was a foolish decision to just leap without knowing what I was leaping into. However, I came to realize that if I had never moved to Pittsburgh, never lived on my own for a couple of months, I would always be wondering what was out there. I navigated the city on my own, felt the rush of city life. I walked among the city slickers as some often refer to them. I was living in the big city but still something nagged at me. As silly as it is to admit I found myself longing for the quiet atmosphere that you can only find in a small town. I found myself missing my loved ones and missing the quaint life I once lived. So to make a long story short I ended up moving back to Punxsutawney. From that moment on when I felt the need to explore the city I instead decided to travel. Not just to Pittsburgh but to other big cities as well. I have been all over this country but still I long to see more. But only to just visit. Just this past week our town of Punxsutawney saw many visitors and as I watched these people explore our tiny town I was reminded of my own journey’s. So often we take for granite the life in which we live. For so many years I felt trapped in a box longing to get out and see the big world, not realizing that perhaps this is where I was always meant to be. As a news reporter Groundhog Day can often bring chaos but for me it’s a chance to see people from all over the world. The chance to see other’s who have perhaps traveled from a small town of their own, hoping to see what life is like here. My need for adventure still remains and as a mother I am now on a mission to take my son on my journey’s with me. There are places I still long to see. Places full of history and excitement. I couldn’t be more thrilled to share those adventures with my son. But I also want to show him that though there is a world outside of our small town, we must not forget the place we call home. We must not forget that though the grass may look greener on the other side of the fence that it is just as green on ours, we just never stop to really look at it.

Leave a Reply

